Negotiate an appointment (contract) with a surety company to represent them for transacting surety bail. Act as a licensed bail agent licensee or bail solicitor license. No appointment is necessary for bail permittee. Please note that an appointment with a surety is not required prior to take the Pre-Licensing Course.
Register and complete a California Department of Insurance approved Pre-Licensing Bail Education course.
Send completed Bail License Application and one original Certificate of Completion from the class to the California Department of Insurance(application fee is $514 (two year term) for first time applicants. This does not include the examination fee. The examination fee is $42. Do not pay this at the time you send your application in. After the CDI has reviewed and approved your application, the CDI will schedule your bail license examination (usually within 6 weeks). At that time you will submit the examination fee.
Take your bail license examination. For the most part, test questions are based on California Insurance Code Sections 35, 1733, 1800-1822; California Code of Regulations, Title 10, Sections 2053-2104; and, California Penal Code Sections 1268-1319.6; and other sections referred to in these sections.
If you pass the test, you will be required to submit fingerprint impressions. You may obtain fingerprint impressions prior to taking the examination. Obtaining the fingerprint impressions beforehand will minimize the risk that the license issuance will be delayed while awaiting the results from both the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). Please read more specific information here. Fees range from is $53.80 and up. If you fail the test or the applicant needs to reschedule the examination, there is a reexamination fee of $42 that is also due at the time the examination is rescheduled.
You do not have to take a Continuing Bail Education course during the licensing period (July 1 – June 30) in which you obtained your initial bail license. Every year thereafter, however, you must complete 6 hours of continuing bail education or 12 hours per licensing term (offered by CBAA)
Renewal period is a two year term, must complete Continuing Education. Within that two years a licensee must accomplish 12 hours of continuing education. You can do this 6 per year or all 12 in one year prior to renewal.
Join CBAA. Information on the different levels of membership is available here. The best way to network in this industry is to come to the convention. Currently we are working on putting together the 2020 Convention together and will soon announce the date.
Each year we offer 6 hours of CE at the convention